Friday Nov 20 — Himanshu Tyagi from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

The next Foundations of Data Science virtual talk will take place on Friday, Nov 20th at 10:00 AM Pacific Time (13:00 Eastern Time, 18:00 Central European Time, 17:00 UTC, 23:30 Indian Time).  Himanshu Tyagi from IISc will speak about “General lower bounds for estimation under information constraints”.

Abstract:  We present very general lower bounds for parametric estimation when only limited information per sample is allowed. These limitations can arise, for example, in form of communication constraints, privacy constraints, or linear measurements. Our lower bounds hold for discrete distributions with large alphabet as well as continuous distributions with high-dimensional parameters, apply for any information constraint, and are valid for any $\ell_p$ loss function. Our bounds recover both strong data processing inequality based bounds and Cramér-Rao based bound as special cases.

This talk is based on joint work with Jayadev Acharya and Clément Canonne.

Please register here to join the virtual talk.

The series is supported by the NSF HDR TRIPODS Grant 1934846.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: