Friday, Oct 09 — Alexandr Andoni from Columbia University

The next Foundations of Data Science virtual talk will take place on Friday, Oct 09th at 10:00 AM Pacific Time (1:00 pm Eastern Time, 18:00 Central European Time, 17:00 UTC).  Alexandr Andoni from Columbia University will speak about “Approximating Edit Distance in Near-Linear Time”.

Abstract: Edit distance is a classic measure of similarity between strings, with applications ranging from computational biology to coding. Computing edit distance is also a classic dynamic programming problem, with a quadratic run-time solution, often taught in the “Intro to Algorithms” classes. Improving this runtime has been a decades-old challenge, now ruled likely-impossible using tools from the modern area of fine-grained complexity. We show how to approximate the edit distance between two strings in near-linear time, up to a constant factor. Our result completes a research direction set forth in the breakthrough paper of [Chakraborty, Das, Goldenberg, Koucky, Saks; FOCS’18], which showed the first constant-factor approximation algorithm with a (strongly) sub-quadratic running time.

Joint work with Negev Shekel Nosatzki, available at https://arxiv.org/abs/2005.07678.

Please register here to join the virtual talk.

The series is supported by the NSF HDR TRIPODS Grant 1934846.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: